OpenMP thread stops

General OpenMP discussion

OpenMP thread stops

Postby guyColumbus » Wed Oct 10, 2012 3:16 pm

Hi - I am using OpenMP to parallelize a Do loop

If the Do loop extends from s=1 to s=50 iterations, and there are two threads, Fortran automatically divides the iterations into two blocks s=1 to s=25 for one thread and s=26 to s=50 for another thread.

Due to race condition, one thread finishes faster than the other thread. So lets say 1st thread finishes s=25 , when the other thread is at s = 43, both the threads just stop. The second thread should have continued on till it reaches s=50. But it doesnt, it stops completely. It looks like the unfinished thread is waiting for something.. Not sure what.

Can you please help me out ?

Thanks
guyColumbus

Re: OpenMP thread stops

Postby baddylover » Wed Oct 10, 2012 6:22 pm

I'm not an expert on openmp but just a user with very little experience.

In my programs parallel do loops work as expected. I also use
!$OMP CRITICAL
!$OMP FLUSH(......)
!$OMP END CRITICAL
within parallel do loop without a problem.
baddylover

Postby guyColumbus » Wed Oct 10, 2012 8:12 pm

Thanks.. Just an update - The issue I notice is to do with 'Pardiso'. For some reason pardiso stops running when one of the thread has completed its set of iterations. The other thread reaches the part of the code where pardiso is called upon and just stops without giving any error.
guyColumbus

Postby ftinetti » Thu Oct 11, 2012 5:18 am

Hi,

Due to race condition, one thread finishes faster than the other thread. So lets say 1st thread finishes s=25 , when the other thread is at s = 43, both the threads just stop. The second thread should have continued on till it reaches s=50. But it doesnt, it stops completely. It looks like the unfinished thread is waiting for something.. Not sure what.

I'd suggest:
  • 1- Fix the code so you do not have race condition/s.
  • 2- Use the environment variable OMP_WAIT_POLICY (set to passive)