Simple Parallel Program Issue

General OpenMP discussion

Simple Parallel Program Issue

Postby Guest » Thu Jun 12, 2008 9:14 am

Hello Everyone,
I was wondering if someone could give me some advice on how to solve my simple problem since I'm new to Open MP. I've been testing small program that use the basic Open MP directives and tools to create a small parallel program. But when compiling and testing the program, the code behaves as it was performed in a non-parallel manner because omp_in_parallel() returns a zero, which means a parallel region was not created. I've tried many different examples that are from the tutorial:
https://computing.llnl.gov/tutorials/openMP/
and the spec documentation that provides examples in the appendix but the result appears to be the same. Here is an example of a code that I was testing:
Code: Select all
#include <omp.h>
#include <stdio.h>

int main(void)
{
   int i, u;
   float a[10] ;
   /* Some initializations */
   for (i=0; i < 10; i++)
      a[i] = i * 1.5;

omp_set_num_threads(4);

#pragma omp parallel for
   {
      u=omp_in_parallel();
      for (i=0; i < 10; i++)
         a[i]=2.0*i;
   }
   printf("The previous process was completed in parallel if the following number is a non zero value:%i\n",u);
   /* end of parallel section */
   return u;
}

I've tried various codes, would the problem be in my configuration? I'm programming in C, using an Xcode interface, with intel dual core processor with the MAC OS. I hope that someone can find the time to help me address this issue. Thank you for readying my post.

Dragan

Re: Simple Parallel Program Issue

Postby ejd » Thu Jun 12, 2008 9:39 am