openmp problem to parallelize a cycle in which there are cha

General OpenMP discussion

openmp problem to parallelize a cycle in which there are cha

Postby nivaldo » Sat May 11, 2013 11:39 am

hello, I am a student of engineering in computer information sciences and for some days I'm trying to figure out how to parallelize this code, maybe someone can help me

// n is the number of nodes of a graph
// calculateValue returns a node weight
// all values ​​of variables and arrays are positive integers

array= new int[n+1];
array[n]=0;
for(int i=n-1 ; i>=0 ; i--)
{

array[i]=calculateValue(i)+array[i+1];

}
nivaldo

Re: openmp problem to parallelize a cycle in which there are

Postby hjnln » Sun May 12, 2013 11:09 pm

try this !!

array= new int[n+1];
array[n]=0;
#pragma omp parallel for num_threads(the number of core)
{

}
hjnln

Postby MarkB » Mon May 13, 2013 2:16 am

nivaldo wrote:hello, I am a student of engineering in computer information sciences and for some days I'm trying to figure out how to parallelize this code, maybe someone can help me

Please don't post generic requests for people to do your homework assignment for you on this forum. If you make a genuine attempt, and have a specific question to ask, then that's fine!

hjnln wrote:try this !!

array= new int[n+1];
array[n]=0;
#pragma omp parallel for num_threads(the number of core)
{

}

That doesn't work, due to the dependency on array[]!
MarkB

Postby nivaldo » Mon May 13, 2013 1:05 pm

sorry, I'm learning OpenMP on my own, and wanted to see an example.
nivaldo

Postby MarkB » Tue May 14, 2013 2:35 am

nivaldo wrote:sorry, I'm learning OpenMP on my own, and wanted to see an example.