Openmp Question

General OpenMP discussion

Openmp Question

Postby stevo » Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:16 pm

Hi all.

I am new to the world of parallel computing and I am trying to parallise a wave model but I have run into a few difficulties that I have been unable to overcome after looking through a bunch of info on Openmp. The model has been written in fortan and has the general format shown below. The sections in brackets are explained below and have been included to test whether the code works, it doesn't.

(!$OMP PARALLEL)
(!$OMP DO ORDERED)

do i=1,ns
(!$OMP ORDERED)

do j=2,wd
dependent calcs ie h(j) = h(j-1)
enddo

A number of functions are called

do j=1,wd
independent calcs
enddo

A few more functions are called
(!$OMP END ORDERED)
enddo
(!$OMP END DO)
(!$OMP END PARALLEL)

I want to parallise the section of the code where the independent calcs are done. I have tried using !$OMP ORDERED to achieve this but the code just takes longer to run that it does with 1 cpu. As a check I attempted to order the whole model (using the bracketed constructs) but this also took longer??? I thought that the ORDERED construct would operate as though only 1 cpu was used with calcs done in the given order. My idea was to use this method to isolate the sections of the code that contained the functions and dependent calcs leaving the paralliseable section. I am not sure if there is a better way to do this but what really concerns me is that when the entire loop is ordered the code takes significantly longer to run. I am new to this so I imagine I am missing something, I just don't know what it is.

I was under the impression that the ordered construct could be placed around a block of code. Are there specific things that this block can/cannot contain. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
Stevo
stevo

Re: Openmp Question

Postby ejd » Tue Aug 05, 2008 6:02 am