STL parallel for -- the single nowait trick

General OpenMP discussion

STL parallel for -- the single nowait trick

Postby doob » Tue Jan 22, 2008 3:03 pm

Hi,

I'm new to OpenMP. One thing I instantly run into is the problem how to parallize iterations over STL containers like this:
Code: Select all
for(it= list1.begin(); it!= list1.end(); it++)
{
   it->compute();
}

Among others I frequently find the following code snipped as one of the proposed solutions to this. However I can't understand why this is supposed to be executed in parallel.
#pragma omp parallel private (it)
{
   for(it= list1.begin(); it!= list1.end(); it++)
   {
      #pragma omp single nowait
      {
         it->compute();
      }
   } // end for
} // end ompparallel

Everything I read so far about OMP lets me think that the previous code states the following:
  • Every thread gets its own copy of the for loop.
  • The iterator is privat to each thread. I.e. each threads runs over the complete list.
  • Only one thread a time can access the section where the iterator is accessed, but the nowait says all other threads continue to loop over their own copy of the list iterator.
So that means to me that there is nothing of the real work done in parallel, but the rest of the code loops n*num_threads over the list. Am I completely wrong? Did I miss something important? Please help me to understand that.

Thanks in advance and kind regards,

peter
doob

Re: STL parallel for -- the single nowait trick

Postby ejd » Tue Jan 22, 2008 4:07 pm

I am not a C++ expert, but I will try answering your question. The answer is that you are correct:
  • Every thread gets its own copy of the for loop.
  • The iterator is private to each thread.
  • Only one thread at a time can access the section where the iterator is accessed, but the nowait says all other threads continue to loop over their own copy of the list iterator.